Graduate Architecture Program

Master’s degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree, that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

How to Apply for SOAD-Graduate School

Visit these sources for more information on academic and professional careers in architecture:

The NCARB Handbook for Interns and Architects
Toward an Evolution of Studio Culture
The Emerging Professional’s Companion

Admissions Requirements

Curriculum with Pre-Professional Bachelor of Science in Architecture

Curriculum with Bachelor’s Degree in Another Field

Academic Bulletin: Gradate 2012-2014, volume 14

For more information, please visit the Graduate School website.